Gemini Spark

File:GeminiSparkSOVR-JP-R.jpg

One of the key cards which makes the Light Hero Beat deck, Gemini spark is an extremely versatile card and can help you gain an advantage over your opponent in many situations. Today, I will be going through some rulings that some people do not know about this card.

Also, as the last thing that happens when this card resolves is the drawing, cards like Machine Emperor Wisel Infinity cannot be activated.

Another common mistake many players make is that they try to tribute a face-down Gemini monster for Gemini Spark, Gemini Spark requires its cost to be face-up on the field in order to activate. Also, the Gemini monster tributed must be exactly Level 4 as stated in the card text.

Edit: Thanks to LightGrunty and Kenneth for pointing out my mistake.

Advertisements

Elemental Hero Stratos

File:ElementalHeroStratosVJMP-JP-UR.jpg

Able to search out almost all Hero cards regardless of level with its second effect, while being searchable by cards like Reinforcement Of The Army and E-Emergency Call. This card was once splashed alongside Destiny Draw and other Destiny Hero monsters to form the Destiny Draw Engine which is currently unused due to the limiting of Destiny Draw. Elemental Hero Stratos is now used in Hero Beat decks to search out Elemental Hero Neos Alius which is a key card used to fuel cards like Gemini Spark and Hero Blast. It can also be used a Spell/Trap removal card with its first effect. Its Spell/Trap destruction effect is special in a way that it selects its target during resolution, which means that you will not waste its effect on chainable cards and that Starlight Road cannot be chained to the effect of this card.

Effect Veiler Again

Apparently many people in Singapore believe that Effect Veiler’s effect can be activated at any time, however as seen in the image above. Effect Veiler’s effect can only be activated during your opponent’s Main Phase, disallowing you from doing breaking the Dupe Lock on your own turn and attacking.

Chimeratech Fortress Dragon

File:ChimeratechFortressDragonVJMP-JP-UR.jpg

Chimeratech Fortress Dragon can be Special Summoned even if your materials for its fusion summon are face-down on your side of the field. Which means that, for example, if I am playing Frog Monarchs and I have a Cyber Dragon in my hand and I have a Treeborn Frog in my graveyard, while my opponent has a field of 3 Machina Fortress backed up by a single copy of Bottomless Trap Hole, I can just Special Summon my Treeborn Frog from the graveyard and release it for a Tribute Set of my Cyber Dragon. Then I can Fusion Summon Chimeratech Fortress Dragon with my face-down Cyber Dragon and his 3 Machina Fortresses, getting rid of all his monsters and losing my Chimeratech Fortress Dragon to his Bottomless Trap Hole.

Starlight Road

Today I will be discussing about Starlight Road.

Effect: Activate only when an effect is activated that would destroy 2 or more cards on you control. Then, you can Special Summon 1 “Stardust Dragon” from your Extra Deck.

This card started out as an OCG exclusive which was only available through purchasing the Duel Disk – Yusei Version, it’s price was really high at first due to many people believing that it was going to be like the Osiris Red Duel Disk Promos and the fact that it was a Lightsworn heavy Metagame back then. The cards that came with the Osiris Red Duel Disk became really expensive, with cards like Elemental Hero Prisma and Arms Hole reaching ridiculous prices. This meant that they were very few players who played Starlight Road in their Deck.

However, Starlight Road was soon reprinted in the TCG in the Duelist Pack Collection 2010, the price of the OCG Starlight Road dropped and almost everybody had Starlight Roads in their deck. Starlight Road was everywhere and it changed the mindset of players everywhere. People were afraid to use their Heavy Storms on 2 or more backrows and some were even afraid to activate their Mirror Forces and Torrential Tributes.

So today this post will be about how to counter Starlight Road.

One of the many ways to counter Starlight Road as some of you may know is with this card:

As Starlight Road can Special Summon a Stardust Dragon from your Extra Deck, Royal Oppression can negate the entire Effect of Starlight Road. Some may try to argue that maybe they do not want to Special Summon the Stardust Dragon, however it has been ruled that Royal Oppression can negate Starlight Road regardless of whether the Stardust Dragon is going to be summoned or not. This ruling is based on Macro Cosmos, where Macro Cosmos can also be negated by Royal Oppression regardless of whether it is going to summon Helios – The Primordial Sun or not.

Another way to somewhat counter Starlight Road is by destroying the card Starlight Road is negating by yourself, this will prevent the Stardust Dragon from being summoned however the Effect of your card is still negated.

For example, if you activate Heavy Storm, your opponent Chains Starlight Road, you may use Mystical Space Typhoon on your own Heavy Storm to prevent Starlight Road from summoning Stardust Dragon.

Thats all for today.

Light And Darkness Dragon

For my first post, I will be covering some really cool stuff that you can do with the Light and Darkness Dragon.

File:LightandDarknessDragonYG01-JP-UR.jpg

Firstly I would like to show you Light and Darkness Dragon‘s Second Effect.

When a Spell or Trap card is activated, or the effect of an Effect Monster is activated, that activation is negated an this card loses 500 ATK and DEF.

Light and Darkness Dragon effect will still activate even if its Attack Points are at 800, however it will not be able to negate the effect of the Monster, Spell or Trap. Which means it will automatically take up a slot in the Chain Link 2 as the Light and Darkness Dragon‘s effect is Mandatory. For example, if Heavy Storm is activated as Chain Link 1, Light and Darkness Dragon‘s effect will be automatically be put as Chain Link 2 as it is a Mandatory effect trying to negate Heavy Storm.

Still do not get the idea? I shall show you a scenario, where this knowledge can help you.

For example

Your Field: Light and Darkness Dragon

Your Hand: Heavy Storm

Opponent’s Field: Machina Fortress (Call Of The Haunted), 2 Face-Downs (Starlight Road and Solemn Judgment) and Call Of The Haunted (Machina Fortress).

Usually you would just give up when faced with such an encounter, however with your new found knowledge of Light and Darkness Dragon‘s effect, you just might be able to turn the tables around.

By activating Heavy Storm as Chain Link 1, Light and Darkness Dragon‘s effect will activate as Chain Link 2. As Light and Darkness Dragon‘s Effect is Mandatory, it will prevent other optional effect from taking its spot on Chain Link 2.

By using Light and Darkness Dragon‘s effect to “block” Chain Link 2, both Starlight Road and Solemn Judgment will be unable to activate directly after Heavy Storm, therefore being unable to negate Heavy Storm and they will have all their cards destroyed, with nothing they can do about it.

You can also think of many other ways to abuse this knowledge. You can ¬†use Light and Darkness Dragon to protect your card Effects from being negated by various negation cards such as Gladiator Beast’s War Chariot, Divine Wrath, Magic Drain and Seven Tools Of The Bandit.

Finally I would like to turn your eyes to Light and Darkness Dragon‘s Third and last effect.

When this card is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, select one monster in your Graveyard. Then destroy all cards you control, and Special Summon that monster.

Most people would think that Light and Darkness Dragon‘s third effect can only be activated when it is Destroyed on the Field and sent to the Graveyard, however it’s Effect does not state anything about it being Destroyed from the Field. This means that as long as Light and Darkness Dragon is Destroyed and sent to the Graveyard its Third Effect will always kick in, regardless of where it was when it was ¬†Destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.

Thank you for reading my first post and I hope you liked it.